Clear all

Used Epiphone value/repair Q

14 Posts
8 Users
0 Likes
(@thinkmad)
Topic starter  

Hey yall,

I guess my question is two parts. My buddy is selling this Epiphone Strat by Gibson for $50. Yeah I know, for $50 who cares but I just want to get a consensus as I have no experience determining what used guitars are worth. So question one: is this grimey thing worth $50?

Next, if I should buy it I'd want it looking as good as it possibly could. What sorts of solutions and methods should I use to get all this crud off the fretboard and body? Theres alot of old sticker outlines as well as the sticky stuff from their backs. Also, is the bridge supposed to be sticking up in the front like that (see bridge pic)?

Thanks for your opinions, advice etc!

Alex

Would you not like to be
On top of the world
With your legs
Hanging free?

(@e-sherman)
Reputable Member

Well, all that dirt can get cleaned off.
For 50$ I'd jump at it.

Are you sure it's actually made by gibson? It looks more like a frankenstine guitar to me.

The king of rock, some say lives
the lizard king, is surely dead
the king of France, lost his head
the King of Kings... bled
( email me at esherman@wideopenwest.(com). I almost never check my hotmailaccount.

ReplyQuote
(@silenus)
Eminent Member

double post, sorry

ReplyQuote
(@silenus)
Eminent Member

Buy, clean and play that white lady
(and call her "Cinderella")

ReplyQuote
(@greybeard)
Illustrious Member

Give him the $50.

Add a few more that you're going to have to spend to clean it up and you'll have a good, playable guitar.

You can clean the body up with lighter fluid - it'll also remove the gunk from old stickers as well.

The lighter fluid will also clean up the headstock.

To clean the neck, take all the strings off and try using some furniture polish, first of all. If that doesn't work, you may have to resort to 0000 (that's 4 0's) steel wool.