Notifications
Clear all

Warped archtop face?

7 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@iplaybassoon)
Topic starter  

Okay, I'm a noob here so please be patient as I don't know the names of all the parts on a guitar even though I should by now.

I was recently given my grandpa's vintage Kay Truetone archtop semi-electric guitar but she's really banged up from not being taken care of.

Firstly, and probably the worst part is right around the bridge area the archtop part of the face has warped and sunk in. I don't know if this is due to faulty bracing or what, but its really bad. Is it even worth it to try and salvage it? How is this fixed, if at all?

Here are a couple of pics of the guitar so you can see what I'm talking about. Please excuse the dirtiness of it as I took these pics before I cleaned her up.

Secondly, the heel of the neck and the sides where it's glued to the face and back of the guitar have come loose as well as the bridge. I assume this can be fixed with some hide glue and clamps and I could probably fix these myself.

Finally, is there anything I can do to fix up the cracked finish, or anything I can use to polish it or possibly prolong the life of the finish?

Thanks for any help you can give me. I would really like to restore my grandpa's guitar if I can. Its the only thing I have of him now.

(@nicktorres)
Illustrious Member

I'm afraid I'm going to have to say probably not worth the effort, unless it really means something to you.

ReplyQuote
(@iplaybassoon)
Topic starter  

I was starting to think that too. Although last night I was looking at it and it doesn't seem as if any of the bracing is broken. Of course there are only two pieces running from the bottom to the top that don't even touch the face except where its sunk in.