Weird Fret Problem

5 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@steve-0)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

Hey everyone,

I bought a Epiphone SG a while back (used, for about $200) and I really like it. However, when I played I noticed a problem when I started playing up in the high registers of the neck: basically when I play on the high E string, I notice that I can only play clear notes until about the 19th or 20th fret, and then the pitch is suddenly sharpened by a couple of steps.

The strange thing is that all the fretted positions sound fine on all other strings, but ONLY on that high E string it sounds like this. I've also noticed that if I play the fretted position normally it sounds sharpened, but if I start to bend the string a bit it starts to return to it's normal pitch (but a little higher obviously, since the string is bent). It also doesn't just happen on one fret, it doesn't matter what fret I press down (19th, 20th, 21st, 22nd), I get the same pitch.

My guess is that the perticular fret is low or worn, especially on the one side of the neck, although I could be wrong. I was just wondering if anyone else has encountered this problem, what they did and roughly how much it cost?

Steve-0

(@u2bono269)
Noble Member

sounds like you have a fret end popping up. Look closely at the edges of the really high frets and see if you can see under any of them. Look for a gap between the fret end and the fretboard.

My old Ibanez had the same problem and I found the fret was rising. I used a small rubber mallet and hammered the fret end back in and everything was fine.

http://www.brianbetteridge.com

ReplyQuote
(@gnease)
Illustrious Member

you should be able to see any significant wear on a fret. they usually develop quite a "valley" under the strings before causing issues, unless the action is set really low.