Notifications
Clear all

Hemingways Whiskey - cover

8 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@rustedstrings)
Topic starter

Second post here, figured I'd dive right in with the latest song I recorded. This is a cover of "Hemingways Whiskey". I originally heard, and was most influenced by, the Kenny Chesney cover of this great Guy Clark song, but regardless of who performs it, it's just such an awesome song, I had to try my hand at it.

I recorded the rhythm guitar and vocals with my 15 yr old brother on "bongos". Then I came back and recorded the lead guitar over top of that. I'm not patient enough to learn anything correctly so I got a "feel" for the song and then improvised everything.

I've been playing for 20 months (does it sound ridiculous to describe it in months like a babies age?) :lol: but anyways, me trying to play lead does end up being a train wreck in spots, but for the most part it sort of sounds like music :note1: . lol

Hope you enjoy it.

http://www.supload.com/listen?s=D8t6YM

Posted : 01/03/2011 9:06 pm
 KR2
(@kr2)
Famed Member

Ewww . . . great voice!
I want it.

It's the rock that gives the stream its music . . . and the stream that gives the rock its roll.

Posted : 02/03/2011 2:24 am
(@alangreen)

Superb song and very nicely done, but there's a definite hum in the background which works against you.

It's a very dry mix. I'd take the whole song into studio, multitrack the lead guitar solo in the middle and bring it forward in the mix, add some reverb to the voice and the strummed chords, and use stereo mics. And get rid of the hum.

"Be good at what you can do" - Fingerbanger"
I have always felt that it is better to do what is beautiful than what is 'right'" - Eliot Fisk
Wedding music and guitar lessons in Essex. Listen at: http://www.rollmopmusic.co.uk

Posted : 02/03/2011 10:51 am
(@rustedstrings)
Topic starter

Thanks so much guys.