Notifications
Clear all

can't get new mixer to work :(

5 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@verilath)
Topic starter  

so i just bought a brand new out of the box Alesis Multimix 8 usb power mixer and some brand new sure sm57 and 52beta mics (for recording drums). all in all i spent close to $900 on brand new equipment and when I plug in the 4 mics to the 4 mixer mic preamps and power it up and even switch on the phantom power, i get no responce or pickup indicators on the mixer. the led lights dont show any levels when i turn gain or volumes up at all. i have tried messing arround with all the settings but i cant get any sign that the mixer is picking up the mics input at all. Im kind of new to recording setup, but it seems to be a pretty basic rig. AM i doing something wrong?

(@dogbite)
Illustrious Member

I bet it is something basic and simple. probably counter intuitive. that is what messes me up all the time.
I do not know the mixer. have you tried searching for a forum for that product? someone, somewhere had the same problem/

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/pagemusic.cfm?bandID=644552
http://www.soundclick.com/couleerockinvaders

ReplyQuote
(@verilath)
Topic starter  

yeah, i found one forum for that specific brand but, they shut down recently due to inactivity. was hopeing someone here could help. i dont have the mixer plugged into any pa speakers or anything, rather im just trying to run it through my pc for recording.... do i need to have it hooked up to some sort of line out for it to respond? i didnt think i had to. plz help

ReplyQuote
(@cruisemates)
Eminent Member

Most mixers allow you to plug mics or line level plugs into each channel - there is usually a switch that say "mic/line" make sure you have the inputs for the channels the mics are plugged into on "mic" - if they are switched to "line" then the mics won't work. Also - you don't need phantom power with sm57s - they are dynamic mics.

ReplyQuote
(@switch10)
Trusted Member