Clear all

Frustrated with the power of Pro Tools

5 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@blueline)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

About a year ago I purchased an Mbox 2. It came with Pro Tools. Here's a package deal similar to the one I bought. Mbox2 Factory Bundle

I've managed to record basic stuff on it. Some guitar tracks and voice tracks. Realizing that the software is capable of much more than how I am using it, I'm getting a bit frustrated with it. Based on the results I'm getting, I can easily estimate that it would take me thousands of hours to learn how to use Pro Tools correctly.

I work as a software development project manager. So, I'm not “techno” challenged. However, this tool is SO powerful, I can literally spend months just learning the basics.
All I want to do is import some drum tracks, beats…whatever, and play to them. Maybe record some vocals afterwards. But getting the drums recorded is proving to be a real task for me. (some time ago I did see that there were many drum samples to choose from. I think I found them on a CD that came with the bundle but can not locate it now.)

I've recently tried using MIDI with the Mbox. I was able to connect my Yamaha keyboard to it successfully and had hoped that I could make use of the drum samples. But can not get Pro Tools to records the drum samples at all.

I guess the point of this post is to see if anyone else is having similar issues or am I just over complicating things.

Would I be better off with a less powerful tool?

Teamwork- A few harmless flakes working together can unleash an avalanche of destruction.

(@ignar-hillstrom)
Illustrious Member