SansAmp Pedals, anyone? Tell Me About It

3 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
(@matsuemon)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

Hey guys,
I'm a home-recording musician and never play live. Most of my recording is done direct, so I've been trying out various softwares to make my recordings sound more natural and live. Anyway, I got to thinking about the Tech 21 SansAmp pedals, because I know several of them are specifically designed to be used with direct recording and also just sound great. Problem is, there are several of them, which all sound good to me, so I'm curious if any of you guys out there have one, have used one, or have any info, thoughts, dirt, or praises about them. Whatever your thoughts, fire away!

(@slejhamer)
Famed Member

I posted a review of one of the new "character" pedals recently, the Vox-like Liverpool which uses Sansamp technology. I think it's great, albeit a little hissy at higher gain settings. Supposedly can be used for direct recording though it only has a 1/4" line-level output (not XLR); I haven't tried it yet, but according to Tech21 their are no impedance issues to worry about when plugging directly into a mixer or recorder.

Also I previously owned the TM30, which is basically the Sansamp built into a powered cab, so I guess more precisely called an "avec -amp." :rimshot: This has the fender/marshall/mesa simulations, similar to what you'd get in their GT2 pedal. One thing I found lacking was that "just on the verge of breaking up" power-tube tone, where the sound blooms and becomes almost three-dimensional.

But of course, the sansamp is really a pre-amp, and you could probably run one through a tube power amp like the Atomic Reactor with great success. I'm running the Liverpool into my DIY 1/2-watt tube amp, and the sound is fantastic.