Clear all

Latency Problem - Please Help.

3 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@kristin)
Topic starter  

Hi,
I'm a good guitarist...switching from analog to digital. My computer is great...XP Pro....my soundcard is a Creative USB deelio with an 1/8 inch jack. It is not PCI although I could certainly install a PCI interfaced card if I need to. Also there is Realtek Audio 97 built directly into the motherboard.

Here's the problem. I don't like my buzzy amp when I am playing along with songs. I have like 20 songs I love that I just wanna play guitar along with the song until each guitar part and solo is note perfect. Sounds simple right? Software is not a problem...I have more software than God. This is a hardware issue.

I don't want to blow $500 "discovering the answer" so I need your help. Currently all I can do is play along with my buzzy amp.

Last night I tried plugging my guitar directly into my Soundcard....It worked except the latency is ferocious. Obviously I don't know what the hell I'm doing. When I pluck a string...sound comes out like a full second later. That just won't work....When I pluck a string...I need to hear it right away....without 1 milisecond of delay....how do I accomplish that trick. Is there a gizmo out there under $300 that will get me to the promised land?

Some of the software I have has the AISO drivers and has little sliders to manually lower the latency.....but it simply did not work at all...Ima thinkin I need a piece of hardware to make sure when I hit a string my ear and the motherboard get the audio signal instantaneously.

Thanx, Kristin.

(@thetallcoolone)
Estimable Member

I don't know if you can acheive a 0ms latency on a PC, no matter the hardware you use.
But I can tell you that I have a Soundblaster Live PCI card and I plug my guitar directly into it and use ASIO drivers and have a 5.2ms latency, virtually not noticable.
I record myself playing over backing tracks and the latency is not a problem at all.