Clear all

Question about recording with mixer

8 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@lazerkrust)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Hey everybody, I'm new to everything recording (you might see my other post). My question is, can I use my PA mixer to record? Like for example, I have a mic in the mixer, then I use the mixer line out to then connect to my computer, then I would do the guitar, bass, drums the same way.

Would this work or would this be to overpowering to something in the computer?

If it does work, thanks for your knowledge, if it wouldn't work, what might you suggest for me?

Thanks

Are You Ready?

(@smokindog)
Illustrious Member

You should be able to use the "tape out" Jacks . you will need a stereo 1/8 in male to 2 RCA female plugs. use your aux. in jack of your sound card NOT the mic. jack, this will sound much better. 8) 8) -the dog

My Youtube Page
http://www.youtube.com/user/smokindog
http://www.soundclick.com/smokindogandthebluezers

http://www.soundclick.com/guitarforumjams

ReplyQuote
(@freeguardzone)

This topic is close to what I'm needing info on, so maybe I'll hijack it a bit...

I have a computer, a mic, a mixing board (Mackie 1402VLZ). What I don't have are connectors - what's the best way of hooking this stuff up?

I want to be able to record through the mixer to the computer - but I need to be able to record each instrument one at a time - vocals, guitar, maybe a drum track. I then would like to mix back through the mixing board, but I'm not at all sure that's possible. I currently have a crappy sound card on my computer (which I'll be upgrading). Also, I have a tape deck available to me as well fwiw. I'll be listening in on stuff through headphones connected to the mixer.

I'm supposing I'll need some software for the computer as well - suggestions are welcome. I'm getting myself tied into knots in terms of connectivity of these things - cables, wires, etc. Also the fact I'm just not sure if what I want to do is in fact doable...

ReplyQuote