Clear all

suggestions please

9 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@twistedlefty)
Famed Member
Topic starter  

i know there is a huge amount of stuff already posted here for beginners but the more searching and reading i do the more confuzzeled i get.
so i thought i would put it like this, i will list what i have, what i would like to do, and the amount of $ i can spend.
i would like to know what i need to record voices and instruments to my pc. maybe 2 or 3 people playing/singing
$500 is all i have to acomplish this.

What i have...
my pc~
asus p4p800 deluxe mobo. 8 usb2, 2 firewire
onboard sound (Analog Devices AD1985 SoundMAX controller) i also have an audigy gamer installed from my online gaming days
pentium4 2.4c (northwood)
1024MB memory
2x WD 80G HDs
altec lansing 5.1 speakers
--------
i also have access to about any pc software so that is not a cost factor, but i would appreciate opinions on that as well.

#4491....

(@greybeard)
Illustrious Member

I'm no great expert, but I'll tell you what I think.
First things first - download Audacity and Krystal recording applications - both are free. You may find that one is better for your way of working than the other.
You say "2 or 3 people playing/singing". The PC is, effectively, a single channel recorder, which means that the 2 or 3 people will end up on one track, if you record all at one time. This will severely limit your editing capability. It will also mean a heavier layout on equipment - you'll need a mic per singer and an input (either from amp/preamp/DI box or mic) per player plus a mixer to bring together and balance what goes into the PC.