Clear all

Affordable low-power tube amp?

8 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@jester)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

I'm a beginner with only an acoustic guitar, but I'm giving some thought to getting an electric and am trying to figure out amps. I've read various things here which have been very helpful.

I'm interested in the usual classic rock/blues/hard rock thing, and a tube amp seems to be the way to go. However, right now I only practice in my apartment, and then usually late at night after the kids are asleep, so while good sound is important, volume is not at all. Are there any very-low-power tube amps that would be able to saturate and deliver a good tone, but still be quiet? I appreciate the existence of attenuators and such to quiet a bigger amp, but this would really be more than I need--iit would seem to make more sense to get a good small quiet amp at the start (if available), rather than some amp that's more than I need and might never grow into.

In the ads, most smaller amps are designated "practice" amps, and I don't know if that's a euphemism for "lousy", or if they're just quieter, and which of these is good for what I want.

Thanks.

(@wes-inman)
Illustrious Member

Hi Jester

You might have gotten a little misled by some of the posts here.

A tube amp does not HAVE to be pushed into saturation to sound good. But they do sound better when you can crank them up into saturation.

If you know you are going to strictly play at home, then a 5-15 watt tube amp would be all you ever need. You could play it at low volume and it will sound great. And once in awhile if no-one is around you could crank it way up and it will sing!

What you really want is great tone.

There are some small amps known for great tone. The Fender Blues Junior or Pro Junior come to mind. They are 15 watts and quite loud when cranked. You can play small venues with these amps unmic'd. But they sound great at low volume too.

Blues Junior

Pro Junior

Reverend has the Goblin.