Clear all

Amp Basics

10 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@morkalg)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Ok, I've been playing guitar for awhile now and I have a basic understanding of wattage and all that stuff but I'm not an electrician...

Can someone here explain concepts like Watts, Ohms, etc? I just always find myself curious everytime I look at the back of one of my amps what all that crap REALLY means.

Thanks,

Rob

Each word led me on to another word,
Each deed to another deed.

-Havamal-

(@doug_c)
Reputable Member

As applied to an amp, watts is the unit of measurement for output power. "Bigger" is not necessarily "better," and a 100-watt amp isn't "twice as loud" as a 50-watt amp.
Ohms is the unit of measurement for DC resistance and AC impedance. Usually applies to the impedance of the amp's speaker(s). Important to have "matched" if you replace or add speakers. Commonly 8 ohm, 4 ohm, 16 ohm.

ReplyQuote
(@pvtele)
Reputable Member

There's a fascinating and invaluable site maintained by an Aussie guy at GMArts , which explains lots of stuff you might never need to know, but which you'll have hours of fun finding out about! Unusually, his discussion of tube (valve) vs solid-state amps is really balanced and informative, rather than simply partisan :wink:

Interesting discussion of guitar tone, and how amps influence it, here.

Very plain and somewhat quirky, but vast, compendium of both useful and useless (well some is to me, YMMV) information at AmpTone - again, hours of harmless and educational fun in your own home!

ReplyQuote
(@doug_c)
Reputable Member

Interesting discussion of guitar tone, and how amps influence it, {snipped link} here.Cool; that one was new to me. 8)
And this page has some good points on "Amplifier Myths, Fantasies, and Facts." http://www.guitarnuts.com/amps/myths.php

ReplyQuote
(@ricochet)
Illustrious Member

You mentioned looking at the label on the back. The watts listed there are the total power the amp consumes, not the output power.