Clear all

drums

14 Posts
8 Users
0 Likes
(@almann1979)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

okay - hope this isnt to irrelevant but...
a drum makes sound because it vibrates, it therefore has a frequency/pitch and so we must be able to allocate a note to each drum when it has been hit (all be it the note would be in a very low octave)??
now if i play the wrong notes over a backing track using my guitar i can hear that they are out of tune - so why do drums not suffer from this?? why does the sound of a drum never sound wierd even when a band play many songs in many different keys??

"I like to play that guitar. I have to stare at it while I'm playing it because I'm not very good at playing it."
Noel Gallagher (who took the words right out of my mouth)

(@danlasley)
Noble Member

I don't know the complete answer, but I know that the drums in a kit can be out of tune with themselves/each other. Also, I did know one drummer who tuned his floor tom to resonate with a bass drone for one song, then tuned the rest of his kit to work well with that.

ReplyQuote
(@jwmartin)
Noble Member

I don't fully understand it either, but there are a lot of overtones that happen in addition to the fundamental note of the drum, so that may cause it to "fit" better. Some drums do get tuned to a specific note, such as a timpani. My son plays them quite often in his school concert band and he usually tunes them before each song.

Bass player for Undercover

ReplyQuote
(@wes-inman)
Illustrious Member

Yeah, it seems wierd, but everything that makes noise is at some frequency. I have heard you can tune your guitar using the dial tone on your telephone, just sounds like a hummy buzz to me.

If you know something better than Rock and Roll, I'd like to hear it - Jerry Lee Lewis

ReplyQuote
(@pastor_bob)