help me i am lost. Drum sounds

4 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@mattguitar_1567859575)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

Hi all

I have kind of asked this before but i am still a bit confused.

Two of us play quite regularly. We have one electric guitar and an electro acoustic. Sometimes we both play acoustic. We have an amp each.

We need to get some half decent drum sounds to back us up. What i am looking for is recommendations of how we can do this without breaking the bank.....do we go for an effects pedal with a build in drum, or go for a totally separate unit?

And have you any recommendations for which to actually use, i,e which brand?

opinions welcomed.

Thanks

Matt

vink
(@vink)
Prominent Member

I am really new to most of this myself, so take my comments with a big pinch of salt. But, I recently looked into this myself; I wanted some drum tracks to practice with, and here are a few things to think about.

- The cheapest drum machines run about $150, I think.
- You can get a multi-effects with some drum tracks for about the same. Either the Zoom 707-II or Digitech RP-200A are in this range. I have a used Zoom 707 (not 707-II) myself.
-I think the drum machines are more programmable. You could program what goes into each beat and sub-beat etc. With a MFX peadal, there are a bunch of rhythm patterns, and you have to choose one of them.