Clear all

How do you overdrive a solid state amp?

9 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@djdubb)
Reputable Member
Topic starter  

To get that overdriven blues scream like in some blues rock music, buying a tube amp is long shot since I'm a broke college student working part time. If I really really need a tube amp a might get a second job, it took me forever to buy the solid state amp and all summer to get the Jimmie Vaughan strat.

My gear is a Jimmie Vaughan strat
Fender Fm 212R combo
screamin blues foot pedal by digitech and a RP80.
Someone please help me before I go insane!

Also what's the different between overdrive and Distortion?

"Failure is the key to success" Lee Wen; Champ vs Champ

(@musenfreund)
Illustrious Member

My solid state has distortion (overdrive) settings built in. It's solid state modeling of the tube amp distortion. And you can also buy effects pedals to get different variations. But I get nice tones out of my solid state.

Well we all shine on--like the moon and the stars and the sun.
-- John Lennon

ReplyQuote
(@primeta)
Prominent Member

What are you doing with your pedal at the moment? Try the amp on clean and play with the pedal's gain and level. IIRC mids should be high and roll back on the bass and treble

On the other hand you might want to return the pedal, I see the reviews at MF aren't all that favourable. :?

"Things may get a whole lot worse/ Before suddenly falling apart"
Steely Dan
"Look at me coyote, don't let a little road dust put you off" Knopfler

ReplyQuote
(@ignar-hillstrom)
Illustrious Member

Distortion is the result of overdriven tubes or transistorts, but in guitarland overdrive usually means a mild distortion.

ReplyQuote
(@forrok_star)
Noble Member