Clear all

natural valve distortion

32 Posts
11 Users
0 Likes
(@almann1979)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

i read an articel that suggested brian may wacked the knobs on his valve amp right up to maximum and controlled volume from his guitar knobs. the article suggested this causes a natural valve distortion which is a nice sound.
i was wondering, is this correct??
what is the thinking on this??
will this wear the tubes out quicker??
should this be in the live sound thread??

"I like to play that guitar. I have to stare at it while I'm playing it because I'm not very good at playing it."
Noel Gallagher (who took the words right out of my mouth)

(@dogbite)
Illustrious Member

absolutley. having the amp cranked and the guitar volume low you sound loud but clean. then with the pinky you turn the volume knob up thus increasing the guitar's output to the amp and you have overdrive or distortion. it is awesome. the resultant sound becomes a roar full of breath and depth.
unfortunatley for most of us we cannot ever turn opur amps up to Ten.
to achieve that effect I use a stomp box (Tubescreamer). I will set that output at noon (which is pretty loud). then I have my guitar volume knob at half. leaving the tubescreamer on I have some dirt, but mostly clean sound. but when I crank the guitar vol knob I get the roar. if I standin front of my amp I can fdeel the air pressure on my legs.
awesome.

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/pagemusic.cfm?bandID=644552
http://www.soundclick.com/couleerockinvaders

ReplyQuote
(@almann1979)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

thanks. im still not sure i understand but from your enthusiasm now know i want to!! my volume knobs on the guitar are not senstive, it is loud or silent im afraid, but if i was to get this fixed, with my peavey 212, what do i need to do to achieve this effect??