Notifications
Clear all

New PA System, Help needed please!

5 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@ilovejam)
Topic starter  

So im looking advice from anyone with experience with PA systems please.

My band is looking to buy its first PA system. We play mostly rock music(kings of leon, foo fighters, mgmt etc..) and we have around €2500 to spend. Unfortunately I have been left in charge of piecing together the equipment but I have no experience at all with PA systems! From looking around online I believe the best choice (and the one that leaves the most room for expansion) is an anologue mixing desk, an EQ, a crossover, a bass amp with two subs and a mid/hi amp and two full range speakers with tweeters and two active floor monitors running from the mixing desk (or is it better to run it from the EQ?) My main concern is with the amps and speakers/subs, do the amps match them or will they be under powered or overpowered or what?!

The different pieces of equipment I have chosen are:
(all the links provided are for thomann,(t h o m a n n incase this forum blocks names like some other forums) a german site that has an excellent range of equipment and is usually very cheap too! just google it and go to PA equipment if you dont want to use the links!:) )

LEM RDX204 Mixer with 12 mic inputs, http://www.thomann.de/gb/lem_rdx204_mixer.htm

BEHRINGER DEQ 1024 DIGITAL EQ http://www.thomann.de/gb/behringer_deq_1024_digital_eq.htm

DB TECHNOLOGIES ASX 18 crossover http://www.thomann.de/gb/db_technologies_asx_18.htm

for the speakers BEHRINGER EP2500 EUROPOWER amp. 2x 750watts at 4ohms, 2x 500watts at 8ohms, 2x 1200watts at 2ohms, bridged 1x 1500watts at 8ohms, 1x 2400watts at 4ohms (1 kHz @ 0,1% THD, both channels driven). http://www.thomann.de/gb/behringer_ep2500_europower_endstufe.htm

The Speakers themselves: BEHRINGER B1520 EUROLIVE PRO - 2 way full range speaker system (1x 15" & 1x 1" speakers), 400watts (RMS), 800watts (peak), 8ohm.