Clear all

What watts what?

8 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@blutic1)
Reputable Member
Topic starter  

I am about to invest in a larger pa system for our band.  However, I am pretty new to this and I don't really know what to get.  I have been looking at Carvin packages and I really like the one with a 1500watt power amp and speakers with two 15 inchers.  However, there are also bi-amped, tri-amped, and systems with powered speakers.  Plus the power amps say they put out x watts at x ohms, and this changes based on the settings.  And the speakers say they are 600 watts or so.  So how do you match speakers to a power amp?  I don't want to buy too much power for the speakers, but I don't want to be underpowered either.  Our 1000watt amp is not enough for where we play.

(@danlasley)
Noble Member

1000 watts will usually fill anything up to a good size bar.  Above that and you need a real professional rig with multiple speakers, subwoofers, etc.

In general, speakers can be connected to amps that are as much as twice as big: 500W speakers to 1000W amps.  It's clipping that kills speakers, not raw power.

Can you describe your current system in more detail?

-Laz

ReplyQuote
(@greybeard)
Illustrious Member

Think of Ohms like the engine of your car. The wider you open the throttle the more power the engine puts out - look at the spec and you will see something like "250Bhp @ 3500 Revs", that means max power is at 3500 revs. Both higher and lower revs produce increasingly less power. Ohms works in a similar fashion - the less Ohms you have, the less resistance you have (like opening the throttle lets more air through) and the more power comes from the amp.
A 1500W power amp will be marginally louder than a 1MW amp - to double the volume on your 1MW gear you would need to uprate it to 10MW (10,000W).
I think I'd be looking at the speaker arrangement and whether adding more speakers wouldn't give more output. than a new power amp.