Skip to content
What would be best ...

Notifications
Clear all

What would be best for micing classical guitar?

5 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@sunsetgun)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

I'm looking for advice on a mic that will work well with micing classical guitar through a PA.
I've got a Cordoba Cadet 3/4 and a Bose PAS, i use my PodXTL for electric, but I'm looking for a great sounding mic that will catch all the mids and lows, with clear highs.

my price range is $50-200

http://www.soundclick.com/salvadorruiz

(@mr-tinkertrain)

Hey there.
I'm not an expert on this, but I recorded several times my classical guitar
achieving a good sound quality...
Try to set the mic in different angles. Not looking straight to the body of the guitar, but in diagonal positions.

"I never wanted to go, always wanted to stay.
'Cause the person I am, are the parts that I play...."

ReplyQuote
(@alangreen)

I've used a single mic pointing towards the soundhole in live situations and it's been good. At home, I tend to have the mic closer, pointing at the body above the soundhole. There are mp3s on my website if you want to check out how the sound.

Best,

A :-)

"Be good at what you can do" - Fingerbanger"
I have always felt that it is better to do what is beautiful than what is 'right'" - Eliot Fisk
Wedding music and guitar lessons in Essex. Listen at: http://www.rollmopmusic.co.uk

ReplyQuote
(@leear)
Honorable Member

i use three mics for acoustic, mic one is inside the guitar in an acoustic pup or lapel mic (they work ok) mic to is usually some sort of large diaphram condensor place about 8inches in fron of the sound hole, and Mic 3 is a lipstick condensor placed either diagnolly just infront of the bridge, or about 1'4" away from the guitar soundhole... all depends on what sound you going for.

No matter where you go.... There You are! Law of Location

ReplyQuote
(@austinman)
Eminent Member