Clear all

Go ahead and add me to the roster....

4 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@juice)
Eminent Member
Topic starter

Another beginner here that just happened to stumble across this great community one day. Have lurked for a while now and taken advantage of some of the lessons, so I decided to finally make my presence known. Just picked up the guitar about a month ago and have been giving it a much more serious effort this time around at age 28 than the multiple other attempts throughout my life. It all started when I was 14 and a co-worker of my father's offered to let me borrow an electric rig to see if I might take it up as a hobby. (Sneaky way of focusing my mind on something to keep me out of trouble,I think!) It was gorgeous, practically brand new...vintage white Fender Tele with a Peavey amp. Unfortunately, I spent more time either standing in front of the mirror giving my best Springsteen impersonation than practicing. It ended up going back to the owner just a few months later once it became a permanent fixture in it's case under the bed.

Fast forward to 1998, still regretting never having learned, I buy a cheap pawn shop acoustic and am set on giving it another go. Same thing, no serious practice once the pain hit my fingers. Several other attempts over a few more years, same result. Here's the funny part, about two years ago my wife encourages me to take up......the drums. (She claims that drummers are sexy, how could I refuse!?!) I get a good deal on a set, practice, take lessons and even learn a few things. It never really grasped me. I was trying to listen to more and more drum-heavy music. Then one day it dawned on me, I was missing the music I had always been drawn to..good old strong acoustic stuff. So, just before Christmas I head into the local Guitar Center "just to look", and fall in love with an Epiphone EJ-200. It felt great, had great sound and was beatiful. I walked out the door with it.