Notifications
Clear all

Greetings from a newbie

16 Posts
16 Users
0 Likes
(@heyheymymy)
Topic starter

Hi, all. This is my first post. I'm a 40-something beginner guitar player. I currently have an acoustic (Tacoma DM-9) on which I try to bang out Hole, Green Day, Liz Phair, Warren Zevon, Neil Young, Lucinda Williams, Steve Earle, Springsteen, Pixies, etc. As you might reasonably conclude from that list of artists, I'm also looking for an electric guitar. For reasons having mostly to do with aesthetics (prefer sold body single cut-aways in the Tele or LP mould), budget (as far under $500 as reasonably possible), and personal preference, I've narrowed my highly unscientific search to a G&L Tribute ASAT Classic or Special, Reverend Flatroc or Charger, and, as of today and reading some posts on this board, the Samick Greg Bennett FA2.

The G&L Tributes and Reverends are both under $500 (barely). I can't find much reliable info on Samick (including, incredibly, dealer info), but they seem closer to $300, which, all things being equal, is a lot more attractive to me. I know I need to look/see/listen/feel for myself, but I'd appreciate any advice about newbie guitar shopping you can offer, including any first-hand knowledge of these guitars. They all seem like good quality instruments to me, so in the end it will come down to dealer/availability, assuming fit/finish/playability etc. are all in the same ballpark.

Thanks!
David

Posted : 30/12/2006 11:59 pm
 geoo
(@geoo)
Famed Member

Hey David. Welcome to GN. I dont know if it would satisfy you or not but from what you can see in the Guitar Players discussion the '51 for $99 bucks has been named a winner around here. Might be a good selection for you too. There is no way that, assuming you continue playing, this will be your last guitar. But its a great way to get into what others seem to think is a really nice guitar for dirt. I am ordering mine next week.

Hope to see more of ya.

Jim