Hello all...from Singapore

17 Posts
13 Users
0 Likes
(@kenllh)
Trusted Member
Topic starter

Hi everyone,

Newbie here...27/m started learning guitar about a month ago after having bought a Takamine G440C acoustic.

i started out with learning chords and right now, am still learning chords :) :P

Chords that i have learnt curently are: G, C, E, A, D, Emin, Amin, Dmin....and trying to keep with a song rythmn still sucks, my chord progression are slow...:(

Am also getting the 7th chords down, along with trying to learn some barre chords...basic apeggio and fingerpicking...

Question: Currently, i can only play tabs and i am always tempted to play some intermidiate songs from the website like ultimate guitar by tabs, but since they show only tabs, how do i learn the fingering positions since they dont show any?

rgd,
Kenny

I fell in luv wit my G440C Takamine~ :)

Posted : 24/05/2007 7:14 am
(@denny)
Reputable Member

Hi Kenny. Welcome to GN.

Denny

Posted : 24/05/2007 7:20 am
(@dan-t)
Illustrious Member

Hi Kenny, and welcome to GN. :D Yep, when playing alot of tabs, they don't show the fingerings, so you just have to try to find something that works yourself. Alot of songs have passages in the song that you can learn bit by bit, then put them all together. Try to find the "root" position for your index finger, (usually the lowest note played in the passage), that you can comfortably play the rest of the notes from with little or no hand movement. Hope that helps.

Dan

"The only way I know that guarantees no mistakes is not to play and that's simply not an option". David Hodge

Posted : 24/05/2007 11:30 am
(@kenllh)
Trusted Member
Topic starter

hmm....ok Dan, initially i tot i was missing out something cos i am not able to figure out the finger positions.

now i fully understand what Danny and you said.

tnks!!! :D

Posted : 24/05/2007 2:49 pm
(@elecktrablue)
Famed Member

Welcome to GuitarNoise, Kenny! We look forward to seeing you around the forums! :D