Notifications
Clear all

Hello and Help

7 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@onegentlegiant)
Topic starter

Hello! I just joined yesterday but have been reading for quite some time now. I've been playing for a good 3-4 years now and am still learning new things either from this site, books, or playing with friends.

I feel very stupid asking his question here but I don't know where else to place it. I'm looking to buy a guitar. I've had my Yamaha FG-403S ever since I started playing and want to buy a guitar for myself. I'm looking at another Yamaha, an FG-160 green label and made in Japan, but I'm not sure if the price ($500+) it's selling for is worth it. I've read on sites saying that anything over $200 means you're being ripped off, but I've also read elsewhere that these guitars can go as much as 3-5x the original price. Can someone shed some light on my guitar buying situation?

Thanks.

Posted : 20/01/2010 12:02 am
(@elecktrablue)
Famed Member

Welcome to Guitar Noise! We look forward to seeing you around the forums! :D

..· ´¨¨)) -:¦:-
¸.·´ .·´¨¨))
((¸¸.·´ .·´
-:¦:- ((¸¸.·´ -:¦:- Elecktrablue -:¦:-

"Don't wanna ride no shootin' star. Just wanna play on the rhythm guitar." Emmylou Harris, "Rhythm Guitar" from "The Ballad of Sally Rose"

Posted : 20/01/2010 9:29 pm
(@blue-jay)
Noble Member

Hi and welcome!

Don't know much about those green labels, I jumped in and stole my little sister's when she was 7 and those labels were already red by 1970. But, they are lot more than $200.

Actually, they go for whatever people are willing to pay, but to a point, and condition is everything - but you can not see that on ebay, or always believe the description. Oh well, good luck. :D

Like a bird on the wire,
like a drunk in a midnight choir
I have tried in my way to be free.

Posted : 31/01/2010 3:14 am
(@dan-t)
Illustrious Member

Welcome aboard! 8) Did you get your guitar buying situation figured out?