new girl from STL Missouri! :D

8 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@nikkinik36)
Topic starter

Hey everybody!

Time for my life story :D

Well, my name is Nikki Cross. I'm 18 years old and I'm from St. Charles missouri (about 5 miles from stl).I've been playing guitar for 5 years. When I was 13 my older sister and I had the idea to start a band. For Christmas she asked for a bass, and I asked for a guitar. I started teaching myself stupid little songs like mary had a little lamb and smoke on the water, then she wanted to play. So, while she was playing my guitar I picked up her bass, learned how to read tabs and became decent at bass. Thanks to my sister not really liking bass I had the opportunity to teach myself to play bass and guitar. Later, (3 years later) we finally started our all girl band 'Sorelle'. I played bass, she played guitar, but the whole time we had this band going I was still playing guitar. Writing my own songs and, somewhere within the 3 years before the band, I had even begun singing. I found that music really helped me bring out a lot of things about myself that I never really knew were there. I never new I was a decent singer until one day I was brave enough to sing infront of a few friends and surprisingly recieved some awesome compliments. Needless to say, from the day I was told my singing doesn't suck, I haven't put my guitar down. Bass was fun, but writing my own songs and singing was so much more fun!

The band is now broken up but, as bad as it sounds, I wasn't heart broken at all because I believed in myself more than I believed in the band.

That's what I call Rambling... :D

Ok so this is what the new girl is hoping to achieve from joining this site
1.) info on recording (equipment, costs, etc.)
2.) other stuff having to do with acoustic guitars and singing

Posted : 05/02/2008 4:52 am
(@twistedlefty)
Famed Member

Welcome to GN!

#4491....

Posted : 05/02/2008 11:11 am
(@elecktrablue)
Famed Member