Notifications
Clear all

New Guy from Corpus Christi, TX

6 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@lazlong)
Topic starter

I guess I'm the latest new guy here. I'm 41 years old, and I travel all over the world at my job. I'm a power electronics technician, and I specialize in oil and gas drilling rig power and control systems.

I just picked up the guitar about two months ago, and I've been fumbling my way through some instructional DVD's. I had a guitar when I was a teenager, but never learned much with it.

It all started when my son got the "Guitar Hero III" game for Christmas. He's 9 years old, and he'd been asking for a guitar from time to time, but when he started playing that game, he really started asking a lot. So I got him a little acoustic guitar that came with an instructional DVD. He quickly lost interest, but I started going through the video lessons.

Then I bought my own acoustic guitar, and continued. Next I got an electric and a few more DVD's. Since I travel a lot for work, it was becoming difficult to stay in practice, so I got myself a Traveler Speedster and a headphone amp. Now I can comfortably travel all over the world with a guitar and practice along with my DVD's.

Of course, the DVD's have taught me several chords a few scales, and some techniques, but no songs. I've found tabs on the internet, bought some books, etc., but was still having trouble finding simple songs just to get me started. Finally, I decided to Google "Easy Songs for Beginning Guitar", and I found this site.

I started playing "Horse" immediately, and then started on "Wish You Were Here". As I was playing, I heard my wife singing along from the other room. She then started telling her friends that all of my noisy practice is finally starting to pay off.