Clear all

Building a Set List

7 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@hoop71)
Trusted Member
Topic starter

Ok , so i play in a band that plays bars in atlanta, we are working with different ideas about how to build the set list? obviously we want the energy to be there for the whole set and show but does anyone have input about how to build audience interest by which types of songs go where, fast, slow, hard, soft, ect... thanks for the input

"my choice is what i choose to do
and if i'm causing no harm
it shouldn't bother you
your choice is who you choose to be
and if your causin' no harm
then you're alright with me"
~Ben Harper

Posted : 17/08/2006 11:44 pm
 Bish
(@bish)
Famed Member

I've been gigging for over 30 years and have yet to come up with a sure fire way for every gig. It's not going to happen most likely due to the crowd being different every night. Only your following will allow for any form of consistency and even that won't stay forever.

Ideally, fresh shows everytime guarantees the crowd won't tire of "the same old show" everyweek. That takes tons of work simply due to the fact that you should know close to 200 songs or more so you can change out your shows, especially if you play more than one show at the same place on consecutive nights.

At first, you will want to have enough songs to play a back to back Friday/Saturday and not have to repeat every song both nights. In case the crowd comes back the second night you can still dazzle them with new stuff. (Keep in mind this is the perfect world, too.) :wink:

My best suggestion is to cover everything. Fast, slow, ballads, blues, country and rock and roll. You'll get a feel for the crowd and be able to adjust accordingly. We play rock and roll and mostly rock and roll bars but the crowd will always be blown away by pulling out a classic country number. Of course that may be demigraphically inconsistent.