Clear all

GTA- Grand Theft Audio Gig Report

7 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@tommy-guns)
Honorable Member
Topic starter

Last night my new band GTA played an opening slot for my friend's band Life Is Drama @ Bada Brew in Crest Hill IL. We had a opening slot for 1 hour (9pm-10pm) and we pulled in quite a few friends & family (40ppl). Bada Brew is known for being a "metal bar" so we concentrated our set to include our heavier stuff from our cataloge of tunes which went over VERY well. My wife told me on the way home that she was so impressed with our covers of Life is Agony's "Weeds" and Danzig's "Mother" that she liked ours better than the originals (nice)...I didn't even know she ever heard of "Weeds". I never did until I started playing with this band (SHE IS SO COOL!!!). She also told me that she is more excited about this band's prospects than all the others I have been with (also very nice). We have a couple of great singers up front and the band is SOLID!!! When Katy did "Mother"...WOW!!! Her father (Big Daddy from my previous band Ugoddawanna) was in the audience and he was IMPRESSED!!! I told him that she just started singing that tune 2 practices ago and when she did we KNEW that was her song from now on and it will be a staple in our setlist. She has a sort of "star power" about her...very outgoing personality which is great for a front person. We were going to play the Door's "Roadhouse Blues" and have her dad come up and sing with her (like we used to do in Ugoddawanna) but our set was cut short due to a longer than expected setup time but what we did play went over VERY well. I had a waitress come up and tell me "you guys were GREAT" and the deal was we were to play and if we were good we would get a full 4hr gig there. After the show I got the owners card and he told me to contact him next week to book a show there early next year!!! By then we will be ready to ROCK the house again...but this time we will monitor the house volume because I heard from friends