9 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
 Nuno
(@nuno)
Famed Member
Topic starter  

Hi to all,

I'm looking for a new guitar. I was playing, hearing and comparing several models, sizes and types, mainly hollow and semi-hollow guitars. Finally I'm thinking on an acoustic guitar.

I like very, very much the Martin D-15. The "problem" is its price, over 1,000€, and my beginner condition.

I said "problem" (with the ") because I'm really a beginner. I play guitar since September and I don't know if I can obtain all the best of this guitar. Perhaps, a cheaper guitar, for example a Seagull S6 which was my favorite when I bought my LP some months ago, is enough for me.

Then, in this case the question isn't your opinion on the guitar (of course, they also are welcomed!), it is if a 1,000€ guitar is good for a beginner or if a 1,000€ guitar could be as good guitar as a 400€ one.

All your comments will help me.
Thanks!

(@citizennoir)
Noble Member

Hi Nuno :D

The Martin looks like a fine guitar.
1200 US is the price for a medium range guitar.
I personally think those are the better option.
I don't care much for inexpensive musical pieces, nor do I much care for overadorned/overpriced models.

If the Martin makes the sound you're looking for and works well with your picking style....
And you plan on playing guitar for the rest of your life, in my opinion starting with a midrange acoustic is a good bet.
You'll both grow and mature together, and you'll get to appreciate the sweetening of the tone as the wood ages.

It'll be a dependable guitar that will be like your best friend. :wink:

Ken

"The man who has begun to live more seriously within
begins to live more simply without"
-Ernest Hemingway

"A genuine individual is an outright nuisance in a factory"
-Orson Welles

ReplyQuote
(@sgincyqx)
Honorable Member

One of my best friends is my Oscar-Schmidt Acoustic-Electric that was $299 Canadian. That's the guitar all of my acoustic work is done on. There are hidden jewels everywhere :wink: