Skip to content
Acoustic/Electric F...

Notifications
Clear all

Acoustic/Electric Fingerstyle(ish) Suggestions or thoughts?

5 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
(@ricola)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

Anyone have any experience with the Seagull Artist Series?

I like the sound of Rosewood Back and Sides so the Studio and Studio CW are of interest. I'd love to hear one. I was very impressed with the sound of the M6 years ago.

I also love the sound and playability of the Epiphone Masterbilt AR500RE however I've just come across some amazing fingerstyle guitarists that have really inspired to delve into fingerstyle. The AR500RE has a 1.68" nutwidth. I really want rosewood and acoustic/electric so of the Epiphones its either the AR500RE or the EF500 RCCE the latter of which I don't like the looks of which may sound odd but hey I'm a graphic artist so I can't help but notice these things.

If one were to pursue fingerstyle (aka: Andy McKee and Craig D'Andrea) would a nut width of 1.68 be too small?

And as for my desire of an acoustic/electric, the main reason for now is I would like to plug in to Garageband and have some fun but in the future possibly play in the praise band at church.

My price range is up to $1200 but I'd be willing to pay a little more if I found The One. I love the Stonebridge guitars at Candyrat.com but they are a little more than I want to spend at this time.

Psa. 42:8
By day the LORD commands his steadfast love,
and at night his song is with me, a prayer to the God of my life.

(@slejhamer)
Famed Member

The obvious answer is that you need to get out and play as many brands and models as you can, especially if you're going to be dropping that kind of cash. The neck size can be a personal thing - if you have smaller hands, then a narrower string spacing may not be a big deal; conversely if you have large hands then it might be.