Acoustic/Semi Acoustic

5 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@soxzs)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Hi everyone!

I have been playing for around 8 months, and currently play on n Epiphone Dove. I started out with a cheap £50 Legend acoustic, then i was givin an Ibanez SA series, which i really didn't like, as i play mostly folky/singer-songwriter/acoustic stuff, and i couldn't get the sound off it that i was looking for (although for rock/metal it seems to hold up pretty well,although im a novice in that area) So i got the Dove and i love it, for a £200 guitar the action was surprisingly good, easy to play, and i have been playing on her for the last 6 months or so.

Now im looking for a new toy, and looking to spend between £500-£600 (maybe an extra £100 if needed) which i think is around $1000-$1200 depending on the exchange rate (although remember us brits get ripped off when it comes to anything, including guitars)

I am going to be heading into a great guitar store in Glasgow, this coming Tuesday.

So im looking for any suggestions on guitars around that price (and if you have found a beauty cheaper than that..Great!!)

Im either looking for an acoustic or a semi-acoustic. I was looking at the sheraton 2 which looks just amazing, but was wondering, could i get a nice clean acoustic sound from it aswell as a jazzy/bluesy tone.
I mean with semi acoustics can you get a nice acoustic sound that you would get off a true acoustic?

If you have any ideas or suggestions it would be greatly appreciated, and il give them a bash on Tuesday and hopefully (fingers crossed) we will see a result :)

Thanks again

(@citizennoir)
Noble Member

Hi :D

Semi-Acoustic electrics - IMO are really just solid body electrics in disguise.
An ES-335 type guitar is a neck thru body electric, with a solid center 'block'.
It has hollow 'wings' on both sides of the center block.