Clear all

An Interesting Invitation

37 Posts
15 Users
0 Likes
(@rparker)
Illustrious Member
Topic starter  

I'll try to make a long story short, I have two bass playing friends. One I jam with every couple of months and have mentioned on these boards quite a few times. This one is a different dude. I know him from playing Sr League baseball together. We have not played together since I was almost a total newbie. It's been a while.

So he emailed me a couple of weeks ago and we've exchanged a few emails since. Part of the conversation was about his band lost one of their two guitarists to a move out of town, but they had found a replacement and all was looking good. He sent me a copy of a cover song they did and recorded in their first take. It was pretty good once they figured out what each were doing, say 30 seconds in. I told him I thought it was impressive and that they sounded good. heck, it was a Stones classic, and you know I'm a sucker for Stones music.

The next thing I got was quite a surprise to me.

He emailed me and asked me if I'd like to come hang out with him and his band at their next rehersal this coming Monday. I accepted on the spot and hope my head allows me to attend. but I got thinking. Does this happen? Band members typically do not invite others along for practices, right? Especially when I know I've only met the other guys one time and never the new guitarist. My wife thought it was a bit strange as well. I'm not sure what to expect, but I certainly am looking forward to it.

Now, I want to do the right think. I'd rather make a safe mistake than a presumptuous one. I'm not bring my guitar and amp. I don't even want to call him and ask him. I'm going to assume not out of safety. If anything, just so that the new member of the band doesn't think I'm in any way, shape or form being auditioned.

What would you guys do in my shoes?

Roy