Skip to content
Cheap guitar (not y...

Notifications
Clear all

Cheap guitar (not your normal question here)

13 Posts
11 Users
0 Likes
(@mrodgers)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

Ok, here's the deal. I've been wanting to get myself an electric, but the funds aren't there for one. So, I have a question about cheaper guitars, for a very specific reason, the one's available at Target.

I am more of a hobbyist photographer (also with cheap equipment) than I am a hobbyist guitar player. Thus, the family had been bothering me for months to enter a particular photo of mine in a contest. Well, the perfect contest came about, I entered, and my photo won the first monthly prize!!!

What was the prize? Along with $100 worth of bubble products for the kids (the contest was with a bubble company), I have a $250 gift card to Target. So, I look on Target's website and I see quite a few cheapie guitars. I see a Fender Starcaster @ 199.99, Silvertone Revolver (SS11) @ 169.99, and Silvertone Citation (SS10) @ $139.99, all packs including amp and accessories.

My question is, of these which would be the better set? I know it would be much better to be going with something decent that I could get from a guitar shop/store/site, but the funds just aren't there. This is essentially free because of the gift card prize. I already have an acoustic of which I am sporadically picking up to play here and there when I have time (also a cheapie) and can't really play anything because I run out of time after working on the house or whatnot. Thus an expensive guitar setup isn't in the cards, but I am slowly learning and wanted an electric to mess around with.