Skip to content
Do you buy guitars ...

Notifications
Clear all

Do you buy guitars (and/or parts) online or only in person?

37 Posts
22 Users
0 Likes
(@the-dali)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

When I first started playing guitar 3 or 4 years ago I ran into a guy at work (who has since become a friend and guitar mentor) who opened my eyes to buying guitars and components online. He was modifying guitars and would buy/sell parts and accessories on eBay. He also bought fromthe big online retailers like MF, Sweetwater, Music123, etc...

Well, when I saw what he was doing I was amazed. I mean, as a newbie I totally expected all musicians to purchase their gear after PLAYING the gear. In other words, I had always believed that musicians had to experience the instrument before they purchased it. Then, I go online and on eBay and see this GIGANTIC market of online guitars, amps, and other instruments. I was blown away. To buy a musical instrument sight unseen was totally shocking to me.

I've since grown an appreciation for the online experience - especially given the extreme discounts you can get purchasing used gear directly from owners (as opposed to buying from a reseller or store). I imagine that there is a fairly even split between the number of traditionalists out there (need to try the specific instrument first) and those that go for the lowest price all the time (usually, online) but I figured we'd do a poll to see what kind of buyers we have here on GN. Have at it!

-=- Steve

"If the moon were made of ribs, would you eat it?"

(@ignar-hillstrom)
Illustrious Member

I want to try it first. If that's not possible I won't buy it.

ReplyQuote
 Nuno
(@nuno)
Famed Member

I don't buy gear online. I want to try it first too. I only buy books.

ReplyQuote
(@chris-c)
Famed Member

+1