Notifications
Clear all

Ever pawned your guitar(s)?

40 Posts
20 Users
0 Likes
(@almann1979)
Noble Member

glad you have them back vic, hope you enjoy 'em this weekend!!

have a good 'un.
AL

"I like to play that guitar. I have to stare at it while I'm playing it because I'm not very good at playing it."
Noel Gallagher (who took the words right out of my mouth)

ReplyQuote
(@vic-lewis-vl)
Illustrious Member
Topic starter  

Thanks, Al! I had a good time tonight - first time I've jammed with my old mate Stu for a while, and the first time I've got to play my Tele since, umm, about the end of April....like being re-united with an old flame, but in a GOOD way! We jammed for a couple of hours, and I have to say, my fingers are a bit sore - I've only had an old beater guitar to play on the last few weeks or so, and it's been a case of a couple of songs and chuck it to one side - and I was a bit (be honest, Vic, A LOT!) sloppy - timing was off, playing wrong chords, just lots and lots of little mistakes....but enough there to give me a kick up the derriere and make me want to practise. About the only things that went OK were Stay With Me (I know that song so well, I can almost play it in my sleep!) Cindy Incidentally (I stuck to rhythm, let Stu do the solos) and a long 12-bar jam in A where I stuck mostly to rhythm, playing a blues shuffle....A5, A6, A7, A6 etc etc....

I think Dogbite nailed it when he said it's something like missing a limb - without the Tele, I didn't feel like practising, I felt like my left arm's raison d'etre was gone....but tonight, with the Tele back in my hands, I realised why I love playing so much, sloppiness and rustiness notwithstanding. I reckon a couple of weeks solid practising - about 6-8 hours a day, till my callouses are hard again - and I'll be back to normal, and able to listen to myself without wincing.