Clear all

I need a cheap/good electric guitar.

10 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
(@hurley09)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

I've been playing for 2 years, so I'm not sure where that puts me as far as beginner-intermediate. I've got two acoustic guitars (Yamaha FG700 and a Fender Resonator) but now I'm looking to buy a quality but pretty inexpensive electric guitar. Any recomendations? I'm looking to stay under $200, at most I'd pay $250, but idealy I'd like under $200. I'm also wondering, what is the difference between solid body/hollow body?

Also, what would be a good amp to buy? I don't think I'd be playing any real gigs ever- don't have the confidence for that, maybe just some house gatherings or something. I have a 10-watt amp now, but it's a POS and I'm looking to get something a little more substantial.

-Hurley

(@kingpatzer)
Noble Member

Hurley --

You'll find two schools of thought to inexpensive electric guitars around here.

One group will tell you that guitars like Agiles and Squires are just as good as the inexpensive name brands, and you should pick one up asap.

The other group will tell you that every inexpensive guitar is inexpensive for a reason, and will recommend real quality over price every time.

I'm in the later group. If you've been playing for 2 years, you've probably reached the point where you would actually get something out of a higher quality instrument. So my advice would be, stop looking for the cheap out. Instead, go play everything you can at a store and find a guitar that you really like, figure out what it will cost you, and then go about setting aside that money so you can afford it. You will be happier in the long run!!

If, however, you really really really want something now, then the Agile and Squire defenders will be here to help you out. They do make some ok guitars, but, like I said above, they are cheap for a reason!