Clear all

instrumentals

22 Posts
10 Users
0 Likes
(@almann1979)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

We did a gig last night and we had a couple of requests for a guitar instrumentals (gulp).

Now, i dont tend to listen to instrumental compositions - and the only ones i have tried to learn have been satriani compositions and that was purely to stretch my legato technique - if i tried to play those in front of an audience i'd collapse faster than a rice paper tent in a hurricane. :D

It is probably worth having one or two instrumentals in my arsenal - but they have to be ones i can play well - so lets rule out Satch, malmsteem etc.

I was thinking along the lines of the shadows etc, but i am quite ignorant about these types of songs im afraid - can anybody suggest one or two "signature" instrumentals that seem to get requested a lot (but dont need superspeedy picking)?

thanks - Al

"I like to play that guitar. I have to stare at it while I'm playing it because I'm not very good at playing it."
Noel Gallagher (who took the words right out of my mouth)

(@davidhodge)

First off, you can turn any song you want into an instrumental. You (or another instrument) play the melody and the rest of the band plays the chords and rhythm and there you go. Think of it as a reasonably care-free, although potentially lengthy, solo. Band mates can even take turns playing the melody or melodic-style improvisations on the melody with each verse.

That being said, there are a number of easy (and usually recognized) solo pieces for bands. Tequilla by the Champs (with Seals and Crofts before they were Seals and Crofts) and Walk Don't Run by the Ventures are quick and easy to learn. TV theme songs are also fairly easy to learn. King of the Hill is a lot of fun on guitar. And then there are wonderfully beautiful pieces like Sleepwalk (Santo and Johnny) that will certainly go over well for weddings and other formal occasions.