Clear all

John Mayer

13 Posts
12 Users
0 Likes
(@simonhome-co-uk)
Prominent Member
Topic starter  

Ok so I've been playing for about 45 years now and I've only just checked Mayer's playing out...wow. How the hell did this guy slip under my radar? :shock:
First watched this vid: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=umk2iDvO0dU ...Influences are quite obvious huh?

Id only really heard some more of commercial tunes so didn't pay him any heed. So now I was wondering - What are a couple of his more impressive songs from a guitar point of view? I've like to check some of em out.

cnev
(@cnev)
Famed Member

I can't tell you any of his songs but I had a similar impression of him about a year or so ago. I had heard some of his commercial stuff and caught him briefly on a few shows but didn't pay much attention.

About a year ago I saw him a couple times on TV really getting down on his guitar and he is a really good player. I think it was when he was doing that trio stuff.

"It's all about stickin it to the man!"
It's a long way to the top if you want to rock n roll!

ReplyQuote
(@urbancowgirl)
Reputable Member

I saw him on TV on the Crossroads Guitar Festival a while back. He is a good guitar player, I will give him that. I've never been all that impressed with his songs that I have heard on the radio so I was kind of surprised to see him there.

All my life I wanted to be somebody. Now I see I should have been more specific.

ReplyQuote
(@gnease)
Illustrious Member

Yes, John Mayer plays guitar quite well. His pop tunes are .... well pop tunes. They make him a lot more money than would only playing very good covers of blues tunes.

(Is he now also a GN moderator?)

-=tension & release=-

ReplyQuote
(@dogbite)
Illustrious Member