Clear all

Line 6 Toneport making me feel old!

7 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@bobblehat)
Reputable Member
Topic starter  

As I sit and type this my son is noodling away on his guitar making all kinds of wierd and wonderful sounds.Everything from the beatles to metallica and the only equipment he's using is a guitar ,headphones, a small plastic box and a pc.

This got me thinking about when I started playing about 20 years ago.To get anywhere near the quantity or quality of tones he is getting out of this small box of tricks I would not only have to have invested about £3000 in gear but also it would have taken me an hour to put all pedals and cables together.
:lol:

Bob

My Band: http://www.myspace.com/thelanterns2010
playing whilst drunk is only permitted if all band members are in a similar state!

(@ignar-hillstrom)
Illustrious Member

So true. The advancement of technology rocks, even for under a $100 you can get something that gives atleasts an acceptable sound.

Somewhat related: just got a gift, recorded the first notes I played: http://www.soundclick.com/bands/songInfo.cfm?bandID=361288&songID=5328158 . Absolutely no way that could have been possible even a decade ago, no drawing lines in cubase, pasting articulations or dubbing MIDI tracks, just hit record and noodle. Really looking forward to the future! 8)

ReplyQuote
(@chris-c)
Famed Member

Somewhat related: just got a gift, recorded the first notes I played: http://www.soundclick.com/bands/songInfo.cfm?bandID=361288&songID=5328158 . Absolutely no way that could have been possible even a decade ago, no drawing lines in cubase, pasting articulations or dubbing MIDI tracks, just hit record and noodle. Really looking forward to the future! 8)

Amazing! Very nice track too. 8) Could you share some more details about what was going on there please? What and how were you 'playing' and how much was the instrument or equipment providing?

Cheers,

Chris

ReplyQuote
(@chris-c)
Famed Member