Clear all

Newbie Requesting Guitar Advice

11 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
(@kcfenderfan)
Honorable Member
Topic starter  

I am new to guitars and this site. I was wondering if I might ask for a bit of advice on selecting a guitar. I have been reading a lot of reviews for entry level guitars on the Musicians Friend and Guitar Center websites and it appears that the Affinity Fat Strat and Epiphone Les Paul Special II guitars might be good. On the other hand, would I be better off going to a local store and getting a higher end used guitar? I am looking to spend around $250 so I don't know exactly what that will buy me. A buddy loaned me an amp, so getting that in a package deal is not necessarily attractive to me.

Thanks in advance for any and all responses.

KC Newbie

(@dogbite)
Illustrious Member

starter guitars are typically low end in both price and quality. they are offered to someone maybe wanna tryit . not to a budding musician. those two guitars, although playable, are simply just ok. the finish end work that makes more expensive guitars 'feel' so nice is not there. they can make cool sounds and are ok to start on. you will outgrow it very fast if you take to guitar playing and want to go further. those starters have no resale value.
buying up even if used is usually a good idea. my guitars will outlive me;they'll be sold. so there can be great guitars out there. you might find a good guitar for a good price. learn about what goes into electric guitars. and then check out as many as you can. play them... even if you arent very good.
the guitar should feel good in your hands. it shouldnt buzz or have loose or missing knobs. dings and chips happen and are cool. plug the guitar in next. that's right. play it unplugged first. does it sustain well?
now plug it in and strum a chord. hold the chord and listen. fiddle with all the knobs and strum that chord.