Problemo

31 Posts
10 Users
0 Likes
 cnev
(@cnev)
Famed Member
Topic starter  

Just to put closure on this because in my mind it's over for any of you that are interested. I had a lesson last night (moved up a couple days cuz of a golf match)Anyway I went in and told my teacher of my dilemma and asked him to relisten to the that part of the song and see if maybe it could be another chord.

So we listen and listen and listen, he says it's absolutely the C#11 you can hear the F# ringing clear as day and he plucks an F# and to me it's right on. Him and I get along pretty good so we joke alot but then he says I've been playing for over 30+ years, has a degree in music, has perfect pitch, has taught for 20 years or so, does professional transcribing for major publishers and bands etc and he would bet his reputation that it's a C#11 chord. He laughed when I told him I was guestioning it because internet tab and videos showed something different. He wasn't mad and was actually kind of amused but he did tell me to tell him to stick to playing Smoke on the Water...Ouch (Not sure I'll tell him that but I probably will then maybe he'll never do this again)

Texted that we checked and we still hear C#11 but never got a response but I'm sure this is going to throw him for a loop now.

"It's all about stickin it to the man!"
It's a long way to the top if you want to rock n roll!

ReplyQuote
(@vic-lewis-vl)
Illustrious Member

I'm still curious - so what did your bandmate actually think the C#11 chord was? How different from your teacher's tab is he playing it?

:D :D :D

Vic

"Sometimes the beauty of music can help us all find strength to deal with all the curves life can throw us." (D. Hodge.)

ReplyQuote
 cnev
(@cnev)
Famed Member
Topic starter  

Vic he's playing a Cadd9 which is what the internet tab shows, but the Cadd9 and the C#11 share the same notes except for the F# in the C#11 so they blend together fine.