Skip to content
Should I drop teach...

Notifications
Clear all

Should I drop teaching price due to recession?

14 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@fleaaaaaa)
Prominent Member
Topic starter  

I dont know what to think about dropping the prices of my lessons, I have been going over it in my head and I have these back and forth arguments....... Today I had a students dad who said - we can't afford to come every week at £20, so will come fornightly.

On the one hand I started at a lower price years ago - very low I was charging £12 an hour - and why did I do that? Because I was a novice at teaching, as I gained more experience I slowly increased my price and its stuck at £20 for a long time now, my students dad said "If it was £15 we'd come every week" but then if I drop it to £15 is someone else going to say "well if it was £10 id come every week" how far do I go? I cant accomodate everyone. On the other hand Ive thought well if I charge £15 I might get 10 people coming every week rather than half that who come every week or fornightly - however I dont want to be "the cheap teacher" and eventually I feel id have to charge more in the long run to get back to where I was - maybe that would be easier to do after a recession? I dont know. So I'm in the awkward position of sitting on the fence, silly thing is, he knew I charged £20 because thats what he paid the first time. Another thing that vexes me is the first time I saw him he bought his son a guitar for his 11th birthday at Dawsons,im almost sure this is a second guitar and maybe if he was so short for money he should have considered not getting another guitar for him and using that money on me........ but then again his first guitar could have been a £30 piece of crap. Or maybe this is his first electric (but I dont think thats the case)