Clear all

Solid top or laminated

17 Posts
15 Users
0 Likes
12.2 K Views
(@daren)
Topic starter  

Im going to buy a classical guitar and I am a beginner just starting out. I got my eye on either a yamaha C40 for £70 which is laminated but is supposily a good sounding guitar,or I could splash out a £200 and get a Raimundo 104B which is entry level solid ceder top spannish guitar.
Question is will I notice any difference between the two being a beginner that I am,I have read in some guitar reviews that a cheap guitar can sound and play just as good as a more expensive quality guitar.

Thanks
Daz

(@twistedlefty)
Famed Member

i do not know about yamahas rep with classical style guitars, but i have a yamaha dred that has lasted me over 30 years and is still going strong.
i say as a beginner you should have someone you trust check it out and play it yourself as well, then play the other you mentioned and make a choice based on what you feel and hear.
a laminated top should serve you fine, but if you really feel that you are going to stick with it, get as much quality as you can afford.

#4491....

ReplyQuote
(@alangreen)

If you're just starting out on Classical, go for the Yamaha - you will not have any problems with anything that says Yamaha on it (I have a keyboard, drum machine and a bass).

The difference between all wood tops and laminate tops is that the laminate top should sound nice and bright now and that's what it will sound like for ever. Wooden tops mature with age as you play them in and will sound more rounded in five years' time. As a beginner, I'd go for a laminate because you probably won't hear any difference between wood or laminate until you've been playing a good few years - I'm not sure I could tell just by listening and I've been playing Classical since time began.

A :-)

"Be good at what you can do" - Fingerbanger"
I have always felt that it is better to do what is beautiful than what is 'right'" - Eliot Fisk