Skip to content
Your thoughts on qu...

Notifications
Clear all

Your thoughts on quality for two guitars please!

10 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
12.9 K Views
(@deathbliss)
Topic starter  

OK I'll make this brief...

My mom boughtt me a guitar years ago with what I believe is called a "C Neck", high action, and it was 3/4 or smaller (probably smaller). I'm 6 feet or so, and not in shoes, and I have semi-sausage fingers from my dad, so you can imagine the struggle I went through. But I did learn a little on that POC. So I'm a newbie who is serious about learning how to play.

I want to buy a guitar but my budget is ridiculous so please don't laugh at me. I don't want to go any higher than $50.00, preferable $30.00 or less so I can get a tuner and strings, so that limits me to used, and I don't want a plywood top, high action, or anything under 40". I know I need something between 40-42" - a full size guitar. I have found two at an undisclosed place I'm looking at (don't need any competition here.)

The first is something called an Eleca DAG-5. This is a solid wood body guitar using some sort of Mahogony replacement called Nato.

The other I can find NO information on at all! It's an MJ GCE411OR cutaway.

Both are 6 steel string acoustics which is what I want. I need more info on the MJ and quality thoughts on both. Not how it feels or sounds or anything like that. How is the construction? How is the hardware? If you had either of these for a while, did they stay in tune? Did they stay together or fall apart? That sort of thing. I'll handle the feel and sound part if I look at them, based on your feedback of their quality.

No I can't increase my budget, and I honestly believe I should be able to get a solid wood 6 steel string acoustic guitar of decent quality used in my price range. It won't be easy, but it should be feasible. My ideal guitar is a cutaway solid wood top 6 steel string acoustic with good action and hardware, 42" in size.