Notifications
Clear all

Live Earth

29 Posts
16 Users
0 Likes
(@slejhamer)
Famed Member

btw, i bought a package of 15 of those new florescent screw in type bulbs that are "supposed" to last 5 years and only one of them has lasted over 3 months.

I put those in my music room (keeping it on topic :wink: ) and had the same experience - they die within a few months. Terrible product.

Wonder if those black-light posters are bad for the ozone layer ...

"Everybody got to elevate from the norm."

ReplyQuote
(@steve-0)
Noble Member

I think we should go solar energy.

And wind power :D

I'm an electrical engineering technology student and although I agree that pollution is a problem (personally I think global warming does exist, but even if you disagree I think lots of people can at least admit that creating less pollution wouldn't hurt), I have had discussions with professors and have been told that solar and wind power have their limitations: mainly the fact that wind and solar power do not put out anywhere near the power of coal, nuclear or gas, but I am in no way an expert :D

Someone mentioned something about fluorescent lighting: I have heard rumours from people that they actually contain materials that are hazardous to the environment. It's only a rumour though, so if anyone knows for sure that would be helpful.

Anyways, as far as the concert goes I was quite happy to see my two favorite bands at the London show: the Red hot chili peppers and Metallica. I really liked Bon Jovi, The Smashing Pumpkins, Dave Matthews Band, Roger waters. But I think Spinal Tap was the best part of the show hands down.

When it comes to the environment issue, I think James Hetfield said it best at the end of Metallica's set: "Think for yourself".

Steve-0

ReplyQuote
(@ignar-hillstrom)
Illustrious Member