Skip to content
Hopefully these are...

Notifications
Clear all

Hopefully these aren't redundant questions but...

7 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@steve-0)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

I'm a newbie to singing, well not really, but seriously PRACTICING singing is new to me (i sing in the car and in my room all the time, but that's anything but organised practice :P ), four of my recent music "projects" have been to learn how to sing, play piano, violin and harmonica, and of course keep up with guitar! Add all that time up with over 20 hours of school a week, it can get kind of overwhelming.

Anyways, i told my violin teacher (who is also teaching me a bit of piano) that i was interested in singing and she said she would tell me what capabilities my voice was at. We played some scales and she said I had a normal male range, and told me that if i needed help with something she'd be willing to teach me. My questions are as follows:

1. I find that sometimes I go out of key when I'm singing, especially really complex singing: should I maybe practice scales more in order to get a more powerful knowledge of what key i'm in, or will i just sort of get better at this the more i practice singing.

2. I find that my voice isn't as strong as I would like it to be, I'm not a fan of opera at all, but that sort of strength in their voice is almost what i would like to have (or if you listen to most of the metallica songs on the black album, it's powerful singing, but it's not screaming like most metal, that would be my goal). I never really payed much attention to breathing techniques, but would practicing breathing correctly help me out?