Clear all

I need some singing advice

3 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
(@oreochef)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Hey guys, I'm new here and would like to get some advice on my singing problems.

I've been playing guitar for 3 years and have decided that I also want to learn how to sing, so I can play and sing at the same time. It's been around 2-3 months since i started practicing my singing. I've read a lot of head voice and mixed voice, and I'm wondering if I'm accessing it or not.

When I sing something that isn't in my chest voice range, I slide up into my falsetto or head voice, and I'm not sure which it is. I don't usually have a crack in my voice when I do this anymore, unless I'm trying to yell or put too much air into the note. If it is head/mixed voice, could it be strengthened it so I can sing louder at those pitches? I've also read something about "knowing the notes in your mind and note guessing" to sing. I find that I my voice goes flat on some notes that I sing, and I don't notice it while I'm singing. Does this have something to do with me guessing where the note is with the help of my guitar and note knowing what or where it is?

Thanks for the help in advance.

(@nathan080)
Estimable Member

When I sing something that isn't in my chest voice range, I slide up into my falsetto or head voice, and I'm not sure which it is. I don't usually have a crack in my voice when I do this anymore, unless I'm trying to yell or put too much air into the note. If it is head/mixed voice, could it be strengthened it so I can sing louder at those pitches?