Keeping tune

14 Posts
8 Users
0 Likes
 vink
(@vink)
Prominent Member
Topic starter  

My problem with singing is not the quality of my singing voice. I just can't seem to sing in tune, so I have never found out if my voice is any good! Once I sing one syllable, I don't know if the next one should go higher, or lower, and how much .. Basically, I think I need to improve quite a bit before I can follow the advice in singing 101. I need remedial education!

How can I improve? One thing I have tried to do a little bit with limited success is to try and play a note on the guitar, and hum to match that. Then play the next note, hum to match .. is this a good approach?

Other suggestions?

(I am pretty good with open chords and strumming rhythm, and I feel I could do so much better with guitar -- if only I could sing!)

--vink
"Life is either an adventure or nothing" -- Helen Keller

(@chris-c)
Famed Member

Hi,

I'm just starting out trying to get control of my voice too.

All I can do is pass on the suggestions my guitar teacher gave me about singing.

Rather than hum he suggested singing the old "doh, ray mi" thing instead

Just use the basic major scale and sing:

Doh, ray, mi, fah, soh, lah te, doh (with the last doh being an octave up from the first one.)

The words are pronounced like this:

Doe, Ray, Mee, Far, So, Lar, Tee, Doe.

Because we're singing a major scale it follows the pattern:

Tone, Tone, Semi-tone, Tone, Tone, Tone, Semitone with "Tone" meaning a jump of two frets and "Semi-tone" being just going up one fret.

So, for example, start on the third fret of the A string (which is a C) and just go up in frets like so:

3, 5, 7, 8, 10, 12, 14, 15 ( C, D, E, F, G, A, B, C)

If you don't like Doh, Ray, Mi, sing the letters instead.