Notifications
Clear all

Need an honest critique...

6 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@cyn-eye-cal)
Topic starter  

Here is the deal, I've been playing guitar for about ten years, and I have been singing for a couple months. I am interested in the alternative rock genre, but I have been trying to record softer songs to really put forth my vocal abilities.

I recorded an acoustic cover of 'Orestes' by A Perfect Circle, one of my favorites by that band. This is out of my style of singing, so it really shows my tone, etc...

I need brutally honest opinions, I am looking to start a band and I am wondering if my vocals have potential to be the lead for one.

I can't record the entire song because my pop filter can't handle the higher ranges... but I'll post questions on how to improve that in the proper place.

Anyways, here is the link:

http://www.acidplanet.com/artist.asp?PID=1102154&t=4637

Make sure you click 'Play Song' on the right, a new window will open.

ANY feedback is much appreciated, good or bad. Rip it apart though, and tell me where I can improve... I'll also post the complete track once I fix my pop-filter problems.

Thanks in advance!

(@jersey-jack)
Estimable Member

Hi Cyn-eye-cal,

I think this recording sounds nice, and your voice is perfect for the song. Do I think you can handle lead vocal duties--hell yeah! No problem at all. Your voice has good tone, and you pull off some nice, tasty vocal licks around the melody. You've got talent! :D (You do drench things with reverb, but I kinda like that sound.)

I don't get the part about the pop filter stopping you from recording the rest of the song. :? I mean, how can a filter standing between you and the mic stop you from recording something??? Pop filters are designed to eliminate plosives, not to keep sounds from getting through to the mic. Perhaps this is a terminology problem?

Best,
Jersey Jack

ReplyQuote
 cnev
(@cnev)
Famed Member