Clear all

Glass slide wear

7 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@carsickphil)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

I'm relatively new to slide guitar. I use a glass slide on an electric guitar with an 11 gauge string set. The glass slide is just getting a little scratched and sticks a tiny bit. It is not as silky smooth as it was. What are people's thoughts on when to replace a glass slide or how to polish it smooth again...or whether scratches on the surface just create different opportunities for making new tones. All advice welcome. Thanks. http://www.youtube.com/carsickphil

Crow
(@crow)
Honorable Member

Are these scratches from your strings? You don't pack your slide in a pocket with keys & change, I hope :wink:

Real bottle glass polishes beautifully with wet-or-dry sandpaper. Work slow, use it wet and work down to very fine grit -- my set goes 320 grit to 400, to 600, then finishes with 1,500. Have never tried this on a Pyrex store-bought slide. Real bottle glass has always seemed harder to me than Pyrex & probably less prone to scratching.

You might like the rougher sound of a scratched-up slide, although if you're noticing the scratches when you play, I'm guessing you prefer it smooth. Real bottle glass has an inherently imperfect surface that (to me) adds "character" without adding harshness or detracting from smooth response. Brass slides add more character still but add noise & seem to cut sustain. The Craftsman socket wrench is perfectly smooth, heavy, sustains for days, but maybe it's a little bit sterile sounding.

And... welcome to the forum!

"You can't write a chord ugly enough to say what you want to say sometimes, so you have to rely on a giraffe filled with whipped cream." - Frank Zappa

ReplyQuote
(@carsickphil)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Thanks Crow. Great advice. Thanks for taking time to reply.

ReplyQuote
(@vic-lewis-vl)
Illustrious Member