Clear all

I dont mean to sound ignorant but...

7 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@almann1979)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

I have just watched Roadhouse (in fact the final credits are on as i type) and Jeff Healey is playing and i realise i know absolutely nothing about slide or lap guitar.
are only certain licks etc possible by playing lapsteel? why do people do it that way?
like i said i dont want to sound ignorant but i have no idea??

"I like to play that guitar. I have to stare at it while I'm playing it because I'm not very good at playing it."
Noel Gallagher (who took the words right out of my mouth)

(@steinar-gregertsen)
Honorable Member

are only certain licks etc possible by playing lapsteel?

Lap steel has its limitations compared to regular guitar, but mostly in terms of available chords (depending on the tuning and number of strings) - as a melody/lead instrument I feel it opens up many new doors because of the ability to make each note 'sing' in a way that's hard to achieve on regular guitar. The ability to manipulate the pitch is also a great plus, IMO. Then there's stuff that's hard/impossible to do, like Malmsteen style shredding, but who wants to do that anyway? :twisted:
why do people do it that way?

Hard to describe really, but when I took up lap steel I had been playing guitar for over 30 years, and was pretty fed up with listening to my old tired cliches. The lap steel made music fun again, and it pretty soon became my main instrument,- I believe it has to do with the extremely vocal quality of the sound, it kinda became the singing voice I've never had..